Suggestions for Starbound.

Discussion in 'NPCs and Creatures' started by Javerick89, Nov 18, 2015.

1. Javerick89

Javerick89 Void-Bound Voyager

Hello all.

I've been getting back into Starbound quite a bit. I remember when I made another one of these similar posts about what I'd like to see in the game they were answered such as 'unstable portals' and 'outposts'. But there's still a few things I'd like to see.

Improved creatures: The creatures on each world seem to be rather bland. They're just things to hack at. It would be awesome (although they are randomly generated) to see creatures on planets that are unique. Maybe creatures that burrow? Worm creatures, creatures that make nests and you can take eggs to rear yourself but are attacked by their mother.

Playing with life: I'm actually majoring in genetics at uni and one thing that fascinates me in games is how alien races live at a biological level. If at a later stage of the game, you can have a device that allows you collect a DNA sample of creatures when they're alive you can take it back with you to a incubator and you could combine key characteristics of creatures and create an egg of your own to hatch on a planet. An example: you find a creature on a radiation planet that shoots lasers and is quadrupedal, another that flies and looks like a pelican and another that looks bipedal and spews acid; you take the form of the quadrupedal, the shooting lasers ability and its ability to fly and combine it to create an egg that will hatch your 'transgenic' organism. I think this feature combined with 'improved creatures' would allow players to not just hack at monsters but trap them to get their DNA. Wouldn't it be awesome to control a burrowing creature that spits acid and can fly? OF course though, a large amount of material would be required - perhaps we can put cellmateria to use.