Modding Help [RESOLVED] Testing a custom event mod, when the dialogue box froze.

Discussion in 'Mods' started by IronZelly, Dec 17, 2016.

1. IronZelly

IronZelly Scruffy Nerf-Herder

So it's my first time modding and I was inspired by randomAnon123's Jas Event Mod and Siv's Marriage Mod and tried my hand at an event mod by following their guides and learning based off the coded events that are already written in the game. My intention was to write in a test cutscene where the player is introduced to Morris (the Jojamart guy) as soon as they arrive into town to establish the rivalry/conflict right up front and also introduce Shane, since his dynamic with Morris was somewhat overlooked (which is a shame cause, it would've further cemented Morris's role as an antagonist and helped create incentive for players to want to talk to Shane for reasons outside 100% villager hearts completion). That being said, it's also just a test mod despite seeming ambitious enough to at least help me learn the mechanics of coding a lot faster, though I could still use some help.

After tweaking some bugs, I managed to get the cutscene to run properly (although I intend to adjust the dialogue and camera a little more later). The first line Morris says comes out fine, but after a brief pause, this happens:

[​IMG]

When what should've happened is this:
    /speak Morris \"Say, would you be interested in a Jojamart membership?$0#$b#We sell seeds at Jojamart 24/7, perfect for whatever nonsense you're doing.$1\"/pause 300/speak Morris \"What's more, with a paid membership, you get a 50% discount on EVERYTHING at Jojamart!$0#$b#Surely, you can agree that it's a fantastic business opportunity?$1\"/pause 300/
    I wonder if this is cause a dialog tree is supposed to come up with two different responses, but I can't tell if it's interfering with the code I wrote because I haven't managed to make it past this specific spot of the event where Morris's dialogue stops yet.