Modding Discussion New to pixel art? Looking for pixel art programs? Here are some suggestions!

Discussion in 'Mods' started by Kamirose, Mar 16, 2016.

1. Kamirose

Kamirose Big Damn Hero

Hey everyone! I've been doing pixel art for 10+ years now, and have been having a great time modding this game. I've been seeing many people mention that they're just trying pixel art out for the first time, and that gives me the warm fuzzies. I just thought I'd share some resources here, to the tune of pixel art programs information and pros/cons. As a note, the pros/cons are mostly my opinions, but I feel like they are fairly common opinions for people who use these programs for pixel art.

I guess I'll just get started!

Photoshop/GIMP/Paint Tool SAI
    • Pros:
      • If you already have them, you don't need to get a new program.
      • GIMP = Free
      • You can use the same program for other mediums as well.
    • Cons:
      • Photoshop = $$$
      • SAI, while more affordable than PS, still costs more than specialized pixel art programs.
      • Not optimized for pixel art. These programs come with more tools than you need for pixel art, so they are more resourse intensive and require working around and modifying the basic functions of the programs in order to work well for it.
    GraphicsGale (Free/$20)
    I haven't used GraphicsGale personally, so pros/cons are what I've heard from others and aren't from personal experience.
    • Pros:
      • Free!
      • Specifically for pixel art.
      • Well used and respected in the pixel art community. Seems to do the job well.
    • Cons:
      • Free version can't save some file types, most notably .gif.
      • UI seems a bit clunky and hard to parse, at least to me.

Aseprite ($15)
    • Pros:
      • Free if you can compile code from Github.
      • Open source.
      • Available on Steam, if that's your jam.
      • Specialized for pixel art. Much less resourse-intensive than full suite digital art programs.