Knights Hospitaller's Cathedral - Galactic Version

Discussion in 'Other Fan Creations' started by Pedro Falcão, Jan 10, 2015.

1. Pedro Falcão

Pedro Falcão Pangalactic Porcupine

So... 2 days ago I set out to build something new and massive, and started doing whatever I felt like doing, until it turned out to be a Cathedral... Of sorts.

I have zero experience with architecture/engineering and never been to either cathedrals, mosques or sinagogues, only to small and simple churches, so it may not look exactly like one, but I tried my best to make it look holy, grand and strong. It is a work in Progress, since I am yet to decorate it and to finish the catacombs under it and the bell tower, but the majority of the structure is complete.

[​IMG]

Aproximated quantity of materials used:
    - 30.000 Small Stone Bricks
    - 15.000 Heavy Stone Bricks
    - 7.000 Glass Blocks
    - 1.000 Copper Platforms
    - 1.000 Wood Planks
    - 500 Wooden Bridge Blocks
    - 100 Soft Bricks

With the exception of the Heavy and Small Stone Bricks and Copper Platforms, all of the rest were gathered manually.
    A combination of Wooden Platforms and simple Dirt were used as Scaffolds, and torches were heavily abused.
    Besides the one to multiply the bricks, no mods were used.
    The only other tools used were the 4x4 matter manipulator, Paint Tool and Grappling Hook.
    For every block of the front layer, there is another block of the same under it as a background.
    The foundations are at least 8 blocks deep (I was seriously annoyed by seeing the dirt under avian villages if I pointed a lantern to the ground, so I calculated 7 blocks were needed to block the brightest light source and put another one just to make sure).
    The catacombs are being built under the foundations (and they also have foundations), so expect the bricks count to double.

EDIT: Forgot to add due credits:
    My thanks for these two inspirations:
    [​IMG][​IMG]