Modding Help I have a few newbie questions about Map Editing

Discussion in 'Mods' started by pink_stardrop, Jul 20, 2017.

1. pink_stardrop

pink_stardrop Void-Bound Voyager

Hello,

as the title already says, I have some questions about Map Editing which I haven't found answered in any of the tutorials here and I hope that somebody would be able to help me please.
    I have never done any editing or modding before but I would love to try myself on creating a map. Maybe these are stupid questions, I apologize in advance!

My questions are:

1. If I want to make a recolouration of the map (lets say turn it all black and white), I just simply recolour whatever tile I want to edit in the huge tilesheet.png? since the tilesheet file (I'm looking at the spring_outdoorsTileSheet right now) contains graphics from outside of the farm too, will those tiles that I have edited/recoloured be changed in town as well?

2. Is the vanilla tilesheet file expandable? If I had an 'item' I would like to create that isn't already on the tilesheet, can I just add more tiles on the bottom of the tiles? Or is adding new things not possible?

Thank you in advance and I hope I picked the correct place to ask my questions

• Xuomi

Xuomi Phantasmal Quasar

@pink_stardrop
      1. If you want to recolor pieces of the map, then yes, you would open the tilesheet containing the piece you want to edit in an image editing program like Photoshop and recolor the tile specifically. However, this will change the item in any map that also draws from the same tile. So, for example, if you recolored any of the bushes in the spring_outdoorsTilesheet for your farm, then those bushes would appear altered in every map in Stardew Valley that draws from those tiles as well.