Modding Help Having fun learning JSON with Starbound...

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by lamcraig, Jul 16, 2017.

1. lamcraig

lamcraig Scruffy Nerf-Herder

...but I have a few questions regarding particular elements. Most of the guides and tutorials I see deal specifically with creating weapons from scratch and giving them special abilities and projectile types, modifying the projectiles and status effects ect. I've got some general knowledge like "don't put specials on one-handers" and "no melee on ranged or vice-versa." So, I'm still a very beginner and basic coder, but I already feel like I've outgrown simple weapon tweaks. I'm looking to do overhauls now. For example, I'm currently working with magnorbs because I'm trying to create a wrist launcher.

When I use magnorbs and try to change parameters, it says cannot load magnorbs.

When I use another weapon and filepath to magnorbs for the body, the placement is hilariously off.

Another example with magnorbs:

trying to /spawnitem magnorbs then setting the ability or projectile ends in an error message.

What am I missing?

Some other issues I'm having are -

Charge Gun and Dragon Pistol charge mechanic. Cannot place them on other weapons.

Creating Combos for melee weapons. No Idea where to start.

Can we inflict status effects on ourselves with a weapon? (Also, is there a self harm parameter? Like, molotovs do damage to you but launched rockets and stuff don't.)

Is there a parameter to modify launched grenades? I can't seem to make my grenades inflict status based on projectileParameters.

Where can I find onContact parameters? I see some projectiles explode, some roll around on the ground, some stick, some disappear.

Is there a projectile life parameter? Like, I got speed and stuff, but I can't figure out how to shorten the flight time.