Modding Help GraphicsGale: How to cut out & replace

Discussion in 'Mods' started by Flumme, Aug 17, 2017.

1. Flumme

Flumme Subatomic Cosmonaut

Hello,

sorry for my english first. :( Hope you could help me please:

I try to work with GraphicsGale, but I have problems to understand how to use it. :catsad: I'm a real Noob here.

I managed it to use the XNB Tool and I got the Flooring.png . Now ... if I understand everything right: I have to change something in this picture file and than I pack it back with the .yaml file to an .xnb file (the XNB Tool will help me doing this, like I unpacked it). And than I replace the Default.xnb file with my new .xnb file.

I have here the floor from Eemiestardew: http://www.nexusmods.com/stardewvalley/mods/607/? . It's really beautiful but I want to replace the black floor with the old grey floor. The black floor is a bit to black for me. ;) So I have to cut out the Original Default floor from the Original file .... I have the Original file here and the floor from Eemie, too .... but ... how can I cut only the grey floor out and replace it into Eemies floor selection?

How can I do this please?

Thanks and Greetings :kitten2:

• xangria

xangria Subatomic Cosmonaut

Hi, I just learned to edit .xnb files recently. Instead of GraphicsGale, I would recommend Paint.net. It's also free. What I like about it, is that whatever you copy from the first file, will be pasted into the same location on the second file. This makes it so you don't need to be as precise.

For that file, use a rectangular selection tool to select the original grey floor (in GraphicsGale or Paint.net) Then copy the selection (Ctrl+C). Last, paste it (Ctrl+V) onto Eemies file. If you use GraphicsGale, carefully align the pasted selection over what you are replacing. If Paint.net, it should automatically position it.

I hope this helps!

Flumme likes this.
      • Flumme

Thanks a lot! :)