1. If you're looking for help-related things (for example, the key rebinding tutorial), please check the FAQ and Q&A forum! A lot of the stickies from this forum have been moved there to clean up space.
    Dismiss Notice

Curious question/thought about the new block types in 1.3

Discussion in 'Starbound Discussion' started by shadowpup23, Jun 15, 2017.

1. shadowpup23

shadowpup23 Scruffy Nerf-Herder

This is my first time ever posting a thread on the Starbound forums and I hope this is the right place to post it. But i had a curious question/thought and wanted to see if others think the same. So i love the new block types in 1.3 that can be sloped! I was curious if this block type could be made for other types of material (wood for an example) I'm no mod maker myself but i would love to know if this is at all possible or hear what others think on this new block type, it opens new possibilities for building in Starbound, which I love! :D

2. Virdex_

Virdex_ Void-Bound Voyager

Yes, making a mod that adds new sloped blocks is possible and quite easy. You just "burrow" the code of another sloped block and change the texture and the crafting recipe accordingly to the material it's supposed to be. I'm not a mod maker either, but I know the thing you're asking for is quite simple, and anyways I want to learn programming one day.

3. shadowpup23

That's awesome to hear! Imagine the possibilities, to most people it might be a small thing but to builders this is huge! Builds could be so much more varied, I might try to look into this more and play with it, imaging this new sloped block type applied to wood or brick or any other material makes me smile :D

4. Virdex_

I wanted more varieties of sloped block from the moment I realised they were in the game xD