Modding Help Beginner here: Can't get an animation state machine to work

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by blackmagicfine, Apr 26, 2017.

1. blackmagicfine

blackmagicfine Void-Bound Voyager

Hey Community,

I'm new to the modding scene and lua. As a test, I want to make a simple block which, when interacted with, changes frame. The png file consists of three 8x8 frames which denote the pixelated letters "A", "B", and "C". The state machine's start state is "A", and interacting with the block should advance the state from "A"==>"B", "B"==>"C", and "C"==>"A".

I seem to have the start state done correctly (as the block shows "A" upon initialization), however I cannot for the life of me get the state to change properly. It looks like I can change the state in lua, but the Starbound's animator infrastructure isn''t propagating this new state correctly: the block forever show's "A" no matter how much I mash the interact button. This is true even when I try setting the state's value to "B" on init. It also show's "A" even if I don't set up anything in init, so I'm not sure what's up with that.

Could someone here tell me what I'm doing wrong? I imagine it's a problem with writers_block.animation or writers_block.lua but I'm not sure how to fix it. I have a zip file of the work in progress mod attached. It's pretty small, but not so small that I can copy/paste the code to here I think.

Thanks!

Attached Files:

2. bk3k

bk3k Oxygen Tank

For one thing, your object doesn't define

"animationParts" : {
    "symbol" : "writers_block.png"
    },

Your object also lacks "symbol" as a parameter for config.getParameter to retrieve. So you script relies upon the default "A" every time.

and your .animation file is missing things.
    Recommended animation file
    Code:
    {
      "animatedParts" : {
        "stateTypes" : {
          "symbolState" : {
            "default" : "A",
            "states" : {
              "A" : {"frames": 1},