Modding Help Auto-lounge the player in a vehicle?

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by Severyx, Jul 25, 2017.

1. Severyx

Severyx Void-Bound Voyager

Hello all! So I'm brand new to modding and have been spending a lot of time trying out all sorts of things. Little by little things are coming together, but I've hit a brick wall.

Essentially what I'm trying to achieve is that the player is automatically placed into a new 'vehicle' object when it is instantiated. The vehicle itself is so far working as I expect (extremely barebones, but as expected nonetheless), but there's an error in my .lua script when I try to call:
    player.lounge(entity.id())
    in my init function.

[12:41:36.805] [Error] Exception while calling script init: (LuaException) Error code 2, [string "/vehicles/animControl/animControl.lua"]:135: attempt to index a nil value (global 'player')

I realize that the player.lounge() documentation says it can have two parameters(one for a loungeable entityID and one for an anchor index), but I've looked up other uses of this line and they only include a loungeableID and if I try to include an int for the index it throws a different error. I have similar errors any time I try to use the player API in general.

Any thoughts?

Last edited: Jul 26, 2017
  2. bk3k

bk3k Oxygen Tank

You don't have access to the player table from all contexts. You'd need to add a messaging handler to the player's _ENV

Unless there is another way to accomplish what you're trying to do with that function.

Errors4l likes this.
  3. Severyx

Attempting to work around the context limitations using this process:

function makePlayerLounge()

sb.logInfo("should be making the player lounge.")
    local currentPlayers = world.players()
    sb.logInfo(currentPlayers[1] .. " is the entity")
    local uniquePlayer = world.entityUniqueId(currentPlayers[1])
    sb.logInfo(uniquePlayer .. " is the unique id")