About gaming desktops...

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Corraidhín, Oct 18, 2016.

1. Corraidhín

Corraidhín Supernova

So my Laptop is pretty much on the cusp of both being a fossil and a corpse (its been shutting down randomly) so I have been considering building my own desktop, something to last me around 5 years or so... since I have no experience whatsoever about building computers (I dont even know the basics) I was wondering if the more acknowledged, tech savvy among the forum would deign themselves to impart some wisdom on the matter. I have already talked with some friends about what I need and such, these were some of my options;

(note the options are meant to fit into a Corsair Air 540 Mid-Case)

Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA Z170X-Gaming 7

Heatsink:

Cooler Master V8 GTS - High Performance CPU Cooler with Horizontal Vapor Chamber and 8 Heatpipes

Processor:
    Intel ore i7 6700K 4.00HZ Unlocked Quadcore Skylake Processor

GPU:
    EVGA GeForce GTX 1070 SC Gaming
    (or) Titan X

RAM:
    HyperX FURY 16gb 8Gbx2

PSU:
    EVGA SuperNOVA 850w

I havent gotten to check other parts required for building the desktop, I am aiming to build something that will allow me to work on high-poly 3d modelling, drawing and animation, as well as running games without locking up my computer (hello Starbound)

Also, wondering... how does one determine compatibility? I was told to be extra careful about what fits what and such. As well as determinig whether I need DDR3 or DDR4, also... 16GB Ram or 32? I am not a streamer, neither plan to do any sort of live-content, so I dont know how much should be the best ammount of Ram I need. Any suggestions or insight would be greatly appreciated!Thanks in advance c:

Last edited: Oct 19, 2016
  2. Pangaea

Pangaea Forum Moderator