Modding Discussion Starbound Sports. Suggestions and Ideas.

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by BloodyFingers, Nov 21, 2014.

1. BloodyFingers

BloodyFingers The End of Time

So, with November 19th update came the beach ball and paper planes. And with all the conversation going on over there, something struck at me that brought an old idea I had ever since I started playing Starbound:

Couldn't there be some sort of athletic activity tied to game progression? Like a (tentatively titled) Space-ball career.

But why is this in the Modding section?

Now, I'm still gathering the details that would comprise this absurd enterprise. And since I believe it doesn't really have a place in vanilla Starbound (at least the 1.0. If the devs decide to implement some sort of sports in the game that'd make me happy) I'm thinking of throwing together a suite of mods that would allow this to work. If it doesn't exist yet, then I'm gathering a team to work on it (I know my way around coding so I could put some time into learning how to mod this game as well).

So? What do you all think of this? Any ideas for rules and game modes? Critic is also welcome, as I imagine there will be quite a lot of issues involving this crazy idea.

2. Warped Perspectiv

Warped Perspectiv Pangalactic Porcupine

DODGEBALL!

BloodyFingers likes this.
  3. BloodyFingers

Zero grav would make this so rad.

4. Warped Perspectiv

Well, I definitely know that dodgeball is already easy to implement given how you can deal damage with the throwable items. Could make obstacle courses in arenas, and just have one ball being shared among everyone.

5. BloodyFingers

Hmm. Any limits on ball hogging? Just punishment by giving points to the rival team, or some other nasty surprise?
    The whackier the better. This needs to be fun to watch as well...

I'm still thinking bombs...