Modding Help Spawner help

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by Malicante, Dec 14, 2013.

1. Malicante

Malicante Phantasmal Quasar

So a few days ago, I found a chef spawner in a chest, and eager to have a chef for my Hylotl village, I plunked it down, warped to my ship and back, only to find that it was a Floran. Annoyed, I killed her, being the only Floran in a large, Hylotl village. Afterwards I learned you can't craft them, and the race chosen is random from a list. I intend to change that, with a mod I have begun working on today, to fix this issue.

However, I have never done anything like this before, and while I am capable of learning how to understand the code Starbound is written in, I have to have some questions answered before I put my first foot forward.

1. While I understand it, some things in the code elude me, such as what I can set "collision" to, and what "dualimage" does.

2. Where is the data for shops saved at? For example, I want to customize the tool shop to replace "Rope" with "Climbing Rope", or to customize how much of what each vendor sells (Like the frog merchant and his 1x bomb or 15x bomb items).

Thank you in advance.

Last edited: Dec 15, 2013
  2. Malicante

I've now got an issue, in that I can craft the spawner, but when I put them down (other than the blank one) they're invisible. I can see the item when I craft it, I can see where I'm putting it down, but when I put it down it's invisible. if I use my drill and hit where I put it I get the spawner back. Can anyone assist me in what might be happeneing?

3. vernadead

vernadead Big Damn Hero

did you edit the original spawner file itself?

4. Malicante

No, I haven't. I copied it to another folder and edited it with my changes, changing the name, png, icon, and making a different recipe file for them. Would posting my code here help any?

Last edited: Dec 14, 2013
  5. tifel100

tifel100 Void-Bound Voyager