1. If you're looking for help-related things (for example, the key rebinding tutorial), please check the FAQ and Q&A forum! A lot of the stickies from this forum have been moved there to clean up space.
    Dismiss Notice

Death Penalty in the Nightly Builds

Discussion in 'Starbound Discussion' started by DaJoe85, Jul 9, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DaJoe85

DaJoe85 2.7182818284590...

I have not played the nightly builds yet but I keep hearing that the death penalty removes all your ore from your inventory, is this true?

I am very concerned if it is, I really do not like the idea of loosing ore so easily especially since ore is so hard to get at the beginning of the game.

Let me know you you think about the nightly death penalty compared to the current death penalty.

I know I should just try nightly myself, but I am waiting to progress to tier 10 in the current version(I am fairly new to this game so I have only gotten to tier 5 so far)

Thanks for any replies

2. Serenity

Serenity The Waste of Time

I'm in the same boat as you, my pc is not ready for nightly so I have no clue as well and would like the question answered as well.

3. Jbeetle

Jbeetle Oxygen Tank

The way I see it, it's a start at balancing the refinery - which in its original form trivializes death

4. Litagano Motscoud

Litagano Motscoud Master Astronaut

Honestly, they should do it the way Terraria does it; upon death, you lose half your pixels, but you're able to store these pixels at any time without having to lose some (looking at you, compressor). Could be changed to make more/less punishing depending on the difficulty, too.

Quenton, Elate, Zouleena and 3 others like this.
  5. There have to be penalties for dying or else it's trivial. Right now the ore is dropped and disappears rather quickly which is not cool and not going to be in the final build. Ideally you lose 40% of your pixels, and drop your ore for later recovery.

Blake81 and zixaphir like this.