Clueless Noob Trying To Install Mods

Discussion in 'Starbound Modding' started by Steve08010, Dec 20, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Steve08010

Steve08010 Void-Bound Voyager

Ok let me be very to the point here, I have ZERO experience installing mods onto games, That is i cant even find steams folder for this game sooo I'm asking for help. from someone who has a lot of paciance. Now i can easily find and download mods from the various links in this forum. but i have no idea how to use them once they are downloaded. as i said i cant even find the steam folder for starbound if such a thing exists. i'm currently creating a backup in the hops of creating a folder i can use but to be frank i have no idea what that'll do

as i said i'm a total noob at this stuff and could seriously use a walk through since most the tutorials assume that the person knows something about modding first.

To clearify why im trying to get a mod. my games starmap got wiped and im trying to get back to where i was. there are mods that make starmap unlocking VERY easy.

Nomadic Senseshifter and nn129 like this.
  2. Dr. Toros

Dr. Toros Existential Complex

Alright first step is to find your starbound folder.

You can either go Program Files/steam/steamapps/common/Starbound,

or you can go to your steam library, right click on starbound, go to properties, then local files and hit "browse local files".

either way gets you to the Starbound directory. There should be a "mods" folder and that is where you unzip mods. If they're configured correctly with a .modinfo file that should be the end of it.

3. Abedeus

Abedeus Yeah, You!

What if none of the mods work if I put them there?

4. Dr. Toros

Dr. Toros Existential Complex

In the "mods" folder, there should be a folder for each mod. In this folder, there should be a .modinfo file.

If they aren't working you need to unzip the file. You can't leave them as .rar or .7z files.

5. zortbg

zortbg Cosmic Narwhal